(Photo credit Viv Curtis)

Tiverton Town Football Club, based in Devon, has a long history in the non-league pyramid. We have a look at how they have fared over the years.  

Year Founded: 1913 ( as Tiverton Athletic)

Nickname: “Tivvy” or “Yellows” or “Gold Army”

Stadium: The Ian Moorcroft Stadium / Ladysmead 

Capacity: 3,500 (520 seated)

Manager: Leigh Robinson 

League: Southern League Premier Division South 

Have a go at our Tiverton Town Quiz below:

Welcome to your Tiverton Town Quiz

Which colour does Tiverton share as one of its three club nicknames?

What is the name of the Chairman that their home ground is named after?

Who did Tiverton Town secure their greatest attendance record against in 1994?

Phil Everett holds the goal scoring record for the club, but how many goals did he score for the 'Yellows'?

True or False? Did Tiverton win back to back FA Vase Trophies between 1998/99?

In the 2002/03 season, Tiverton reached their highest ever league position in the Southern League Premier Division, but where did they place?

How many times have the club won the Devon St Luke's Cup?

When the club was founded, what was their original name?

How old was Matthew Conridge when he become the youngest football chairman of a English Football side in history?

In 2022/23 the club appointed a new chairman, Michael Dunford, but which club was he previously CEO at?


The club was first established as Tiverton Athletic in 1913 and initially played their home games at the Athletic Ground.

Multiple league titles in the East Devon Senior Division League and the North Devon League saw them in good standing when they would eventually join the Exeter and District League, winning it 1933/34. 

Their home colours are a yellow and black strip with their away kit being purple. 

In 1973 the club joined the Western League and then were successful in promotion back to the Premier Division in 1988.

The 1993/94 campaign saw the Yellows claim the league and league Cup double. 

In 1998, Tiverton would win their first FA Vase Trophy beating Tow Law Town 1-0 in the final of the competition. 

Success in the Vase would continue as they went onto win the trophy the season after as well as being promoted consecutively up until the Premier Division where they would stay until 2011. 

In April 2012, it was announced on national television that the club had appointed a 27 year old internet entrepreneur, Matthew Conridge as their new chairman.

Believed to be at the time the youngest football chairman in the UK ever, he would then step down a year later to pursue other business ventures.

John Clarkson would lead the side to multiple playoffs however significant losses in cup finals built up and he resigned with many of the higher club profile players leaving as a result. This was followed by the reduction of the wage budget. 

In the 2016/17 season the Gold Army would be promoted to the Southern League Premier Division.

They would finish in a steady 6th position the year after, a considerable achievement with their low budget and crowds compared to the rest of the teams in the league. 

At the end of the 2022/23 long standing member of the club and chairman Ian Moorcroft announced that he was leaving the club to spend more time with his family. He would return to his chairman position in December 2023. 

Current manager Leigh Robinson will hope to add to the clubs rich history and long list of honours.

Read More